Starting to see results from all the graft

Week 7 Jantastic

Another 100% record in Jantastic.  7 weeks of consistently running three times a week and cycling twice a week.

IMAG0557   IMAG0558

What my week looked like

Monday 16th Feb

  • Planned: nothing
  • Actual: nothing

Tuesday 17th Feb

  • Planned:  tread run and stationary cycle
  • Actual: nothing

Wednesday 18th Feb

  • Planned: nothing
  • Actual: nothing

Thursday 19th Feb

  • Planned: 30 min spin class and tread run
  • Actual: 30 min spin class and 4 mile run on tread 30 min 24 sec

Friday 20th Feb

  • Planned: 4 mile run on tread and 45 min pump class
  • Actual: 4 mile tread run in 30 mins and 45 min pump class

Saturday 21st Feb

  • Planned:  14 mile cycle
  • Actual: nothing

Sunday 22nd Feb

  • Planned: 8 mile run and 12 mile cycle
  • Actual: 8 mile run in 1 hour 37 mins 4 sec and 2.69 mile cycle

Review of the week

I had intended to get one run mid week to take pressure off later in the week.  I arrived at gym on Tuesday and started to change; sports bra, T-shirt, sports socks and then as I took off my jeans I noticed something missing. My gym bottoms! I was so angry with myself.  I even contemplated running in my jeans but my friend kindly told me I’d regret it later with all the chaffing.  I got home and then did nothing.  A missed opportunity as I was more than half-dressed so could easily have gone for a run outside.  I didn’t and now look back wishing I had.  Thursday I did my usual spin class followed by a tread run of 4 miles.  I had done the same the previous week and quite enjoyed this combination.  On Friday, creature of habit, I did a tread run of 4 miles and a 45 min pump class.  I am really pleased with this session as I managed to run 24 seconds faster than yesterdays tread run.

I woke up on Saturday morning and my mood was low.  Nothing major just couldn’t get myself into active mode.  To be fair a cycle ride outside would have been the best thing to lift my mood.  But sometimes we don’t believe in sense.  I rested and did enjoy the day.  It was a blue sky day with no hint of wind.  It would have been a wonderful day for a cycle but I decided to leave it to Sunday…Sunday I woke up eager to meet my final two targets; long run and cycle.   The weather was like a different season from yesterday.  Sunday was a grey sky, semi heavy consistent rain and sharp cold air.  I left it later than normal hoping a weather miracle might reveal itself.  It didn’t but it didn’t dampen my spirits.  My rest had done me good.   I chose to run with a podcast of Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo’s Film Reviews  which this week was presented by Edith Bowman and Robbie Collins.   The distraction did the trick to mask the wet and the cold.   At the end of my run I had achieved a Personal Best! This was my fastest ever 8 miles.   My first one three weeks ago on a flat scenic route had been in 1 hour 40 min 47 sec, my second 8 miles last weekend was a hilly route done in 1 hour 42 mins.  To achieve a PB of 1 hour 37 min 4 seconds on a wet, cold trail route was so amazing.  When you start seeing results from all your hard graft it makes the effort so much worth it!

IMAG0553  IMAG0554

IMAG0555  IMAG0556

Goals for next week

Last week I set the following as goals:

  1. one body pump class and one core conditioning session at home
  2. one spin class
  3. one cycle over 10 miles (c.12-16 miles)
  4. three runs incl one long run of 8 miles

Of these I managed half of 1, achieved 2 and 4 and failed on goal number 3.  So 2 and a half out of 4 isn’t too bad.  I should have been able to meet goal number 3 and I feel I let myself down.  I must fight through the feelings of low mood and plain laziness.  In these circumstances I need to remind myself of what I am hoping to achieve.   I need to remind myself of fitting into smaller sized clothes, feeling more energetic and being healthier inside and out.  I wont fully achieve this if I have a “can’t be arsed” attitude.  It was such a beautiful day on Saturday I would have truly enjoyed being out on my bike.   The lesson I’ve learned was to think about the bigger picture and keep motivation near by.  Or to quote a Billy Ocean song ” when the going gets tough, the tough get going”.    Next time I’m flagging I will choose a podcast and do some exercise.   One thing I know for certain is I never regret exercising only when I’ve not.

IMAG0559

Goals for next week:

  1. 1. one pump class
  2. 2. one spin class
  3. 3. one cycle of 12-14 miles
  4. 4. 3 runs including one of 6 miles

As it is my birthday next weekend I am planning on doing most of my exercise Monday to Friday as my husband and I are away for the weekend.

This weeks been a mixture of lows-not doing long cycle and highs-achieving a PB.  It is such a good feeling achieving a PB and one I hope I can feel again.

Leave a Reply

