Super small wins are wonderful

Week 2 of Jantastic

Another week meeting all my targets; 3 runs and 2 bike rides.   Here’s a picture of my results

IMAG0509 IMAG0510

However, the week was totally different from last week.   The main reason for this was the not so wonderful weather.

IMAG0055 IMAG0057

How my fitness week looked

Mon:

lunch time run 3 miles tread          (Planned)

3 mile run on tread in 22 minutes (Achieved)

Tuesday:

evening spin class                       (Planned)

I booked a spin class but due to bad weather and the potential of more bad weather decided  not to go.  When I got home I asked a friend if she wanted to go for a run.  My friend had already tried to run but stopped as it was far too icy and dangerous.                    (Achieved)

Wednesday:

evening run outside                (Planned)

My husband was working late so I needed to be back home from work for the kids. (Achieved)

Thursday:

none exercise day                          (Planned)

4 mile run on treadmill in 30 minutes.  I planned this as I had missed out on yesterdays evening run with my running buddies.  (Achieved)

Friday:

none exercise day        (Planned)

3.14 mile run outside in 36 minutes and 59 seconds with my friend.  I wasn’t really intending to run tonight but my friend was having a “week from hell” and had not managed any of her 3 target runs.  So I said I would run with her to help with motivation. (Achieved)

Saturday:

long run outside                (Planned)

 

5.932 miles in 42 minutes cycling outside.  I had hoped to cycle longer than this but it was Baltic! (Achieved)

Sunday:

long cycle outside                      (Planned)

30 minutes spin class at gym. (Achieved)

Review of week

I am very pleased I’ve managed to run 3 times and get 2 bike sessions in.  These are my Jantastic goals and I am super happy that despite the weather I achieved them.  However, I had also set myself some personal targets for this week-

  • few body pump sessions at the gym (Wednesday and Friday)-didn’t go to any pump class this week
  • make Mondays lunch time run  longer-this I was able to do! 
  • make my mid-week run a hill session-didn’t complete a hill session this week

Well, one out of three isn’t too disappointing.  I suppose this week it is worth reminding myself of the bigger picture (healthy and fit for 2015) and to embrace all the small wins when they come.   When not everything goes to plan it can be very easy to fall into the trap to recall all and only the negatives.  People can rapidly reveal all of life’s losses but seldom can remember what has been good.  I was on a Cognitive Behavioural Approach training course last week and there are elements from this which may help us fitness fanatics.    Cognitive Behavioural Therapy “is a talking therapy that can help you manage your problems by changing the way you think and behave” (http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/Cognitive-behavioural-therapy/Pages/Introduction.aspx)

As a Social Worker and Volunteer Counsellor I use elements of this approach in my day-to-day work.  One of the suggestions from this course was to end the week listing all the positives that had happened.  In fact it may even be therapeutic to do this exercise daily.  So, here are my positives or wins as I have called them;

  • I ran three times this week
  • I cycled twice this week
  • I achieved another 100% week in Jantastic
  • I helped a friend out and upped her motivation
  • I was recruited to join #runderful runners #earthathon team as part of the “virtual” earthathon relay on twitter
  • I am still feeling 100% motivated and committed to fit and healthy me goals for 2015

Goals for next week

In addition to my three runs and two bike rides I want to find a way to get some toning/conditioning exercises into my week.  If I can’t realistically manage to attend two body pump classes per week I need to find another way.  So, I looked out some fitness DVD’s and will give the toning sections in theses a go.  I am going to try to do these Mon, Wed and Fri morning pre leaving for work.

IMAG0511

Here’s to a fit, healthy and successful week

We can do this guys!

Leave a Reply

